The year that was

So I tried the feature in Facebook which tried to capture what 2013 looked like for me in a snapshot. I realised it says nothing really about what 2013 meant to me and was no where close in terms of the ‘real’ deal 2013 was. It was a big year. So here goes nothing.

This was the year when I struggled to understand what my life is all about

This was the year when the going got tough and I found external validation through admission in a college I never imagined I would get through

This was the year when I came back home

This was the year I got a scholarship, which was then taken away

This was the year I got a scholarship and I turned it down

This was the year my brother turned 20 and I felt old

This was the year when I went to Europe for the very first time

This was the year (maybe the only one) when I was an official witness at an Austrian wedding

This was the year I visited 5 countries, saw so much of the world and realised there is so much more to see

This was the year I spent the most number of months with my husband at a stretch since our wedding and loved it

This was the year when I felt the real pain of not being able to pay for one’s education

This was the year I learnt what it truly felt to be without a job or a plan (not very good. FYI.)

This was the year I wholeheartedly appreciated being married to one of my closest friends

This was a year when I started two blogs – one died its natural death and the other is where you are now

This was the year when I decided that I would do what makes me happy – staying with my partner in crime and working on my terms

This was the year a dear friend became a pet-parent and made me question how good a friend I could be

This was the year when I had an awesome boss and woke up most days excited about working

This was the year I spent Diwali like a princess after 4 years of being away from home

This was the year I went to Kashmir and came back a wee bit changed for the better

This was the year I hadn’t met my best friend (in person) for over 12 months!

This was also the year when I realised that I used every possible tool (Gtalk, Skype, Whatsapp, Facebook, blog, emails, Viber…) to stay in touch with her so it really wasn’t like she was gone

This was the year when I felt like I was 21 again with her living with me for 3 days and giggling like we were in B12

This was the year when I realized I do not spend enough time in the wild

This was the year I learnt that the handful of people I love, mean the world to me and I should not be embarrassed about proclaiming that my life does revolve around them

This was the year I truly grew up

Come on 2014 – I dare you to dazzle me.

One thought on “The year that was

  1. muchnessofd says:

    Here’s hoping 2014 kicks 2013’s ass 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

