Books

There is a book sale going on. So since yesterday, I have been dying to go to the book store. He said “wait, next week I get a whole bunch of coupons and we could go then”. I  agreed but kept trying to see if we cross the lane where the book store is.  You know…just in case.

Today afternoon, it just so happened that I wound up in the book store lane. It was beginning to rain and I thought to seek refuge in the store. I walked in and immediately was surrounded by the smell of new books. Intoxicating, inviting and provocative…

I walked through the sale rack and in one neglected corner of the store found stacks of books yet to be barcoded and labelled. They were just piled up one on top of the other – spines of different colours, words and authors. I went and sat right down in the middle and I was surrounded by books. It felt like a safe haven of unheard of stories, unknown characters and hand-picked words.

I do not know how long I sat there, till someone came and asked “Can I help you?”.

P.S: I did buy a book – AMERICANAH by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I redeemed all the points I had on my card and now I feel like a fat woman who cheated on her diet!

Tagged

One thought on “Books

  1. muchnessofd says:

    Atleast you didn’t get a carton-full, like I did! And I haven’t even taken them out of my school locker yet…

    Like

Leave a Reply

